Skip to content

Earthquake Central.

August 24, 2011

Yesterday was my first day of new teacher training. I did what I always do when I’m new to a situation: observe how everyone else is interacting, say as little as possible, make lasting (possibly creepy) eye contact, and nod and smile to remind people I am alive.

This is true. I am terrible at first days. I’m afraid of coming on too strong, of disrupting group dynamics, putting my foot in my mouth, and making everyone hate me instantly. This is the crazy world in which I live. Perhaps you live there too and you know what I’m talking about. If not, let me steal your brain, plz k thx.

In any case, great day, good people, good talks, lots of goody bags, minimal boredom, and then EARTHQUAKE. EARTH EFFING QUAKE.

So right, my school is approximately 10 miles from the epicenter (hey rural VA what up) of the great quake of ’11. And I’ll tell you that as a solidly east coast individual who like to generally ignore her surroundings in a bubble of ironic detachment and cynicism, it was pretty freaking scary. We hid under a table and then had to evacuate the building. And then it was over.

Something that is nice about the middle of no where is that there is no perspective on what is “big news.” The newspaper ran an entire page story about how the schools didn’t make AYP and then the next section also had a full page on a goat farm. So, I was a little surprised when I got home that this earthquake was big news anywhere outside of the county line. I was even more surprised to see that D.C. had decided to co-opt this story. Oh cry about it, D.C. Don’t you know the Culpeper Target’s roof fell in?

They made us leave because they were concerned that there might have been structural damage and then gave us today off. All in all, good first day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

