Skip to content

So that happened.

May 17, 2011

So I got engaged last Thursday to my super boo, who I previously said I would refer to only as the Dalai Lama what for his patience and inner peace. We’ve been together for over four years and now we’re graduating from graduate school and getting married and starting a new life. Welcome home, indeed.

Important note: I am still moving into my parent’s house. Proposal does not negate free rent/meals.

Okay, so the timeline of events this week has been: get engaged, make sister come help me move the first round of my stuff to my parent’s house, gab with sisters for hours about engagement, gab with mom for hours about engagement, tear up with dad about engagement, buy Miss Manner’s Guide to a Surprisingly Dignified Wedding, read it, make a long-term plan for a surprisingly dignified wedding.

Another important note: We have not set a date. We do not know how big this will be. Are you insane? Why are you asking me what colors the wedding will be and what dress I’m wearing–I’ve been engaged for four days. What world do people live in where you know all of this stuff the moment a ring slides on your finger.

Subnote to that important note: Holy macaroni, the ring.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

